2023-2024 BRC Fellowship Faculty

Stephen Stacey (Fellowship Co-Director)

2023-2024 BRC Fellowship

Bio:Dr. Stephen K Stacey, DO is a family physician and Director of Osteopathic Education at the La Crosse-Mayo Family Medicine Residency Program in La Crosse, WI. He is an assistant professor of family medicine and the regional family medicine research chair in the Southwest Wisconsin region of Mayo Clinic Health System. He graduated from Kirksville College of Osteopathic Medicine and did his residency in osteopathic family medicine in Colorado Springs. He was active duty in the Army where he was an airborne paratrooper in Vicenza, Italy and a flight surgeon for an Apache helicopter battalion in the 4th Combat Aviation Brigade. He loves his current role teaching residents, building clinician-led research programs, and expanding the role that family physicians play in the lives of patients, communities and health systems. He is married to Emily Stacey and is the father of five energetic children. He loves board games, Lego, and all kinds of outdoor adventures, especially trail running in the summer and cross-country skiing in the winter.

Peter Seidenberg (Fellowship Co-Director)

2023-2024 BRC Fellowship

Bio: Dr. Peter Seidenberg is a Family Medicine physician at Ochsner LSU Health. He has been Professor and Chair of Family Medicine at LSU Health Shreveport since May 2020. He was born in Brooklyn, NY and grew up in Manalapan, NJ. He obtained his Bachelor of Science in Biology from King's College, in Wilkes-Barre, PA. He completed his medical degree at Milton S. Hershey Penn State College of Medicine and his family medicine internship and residency at the Scott Air Force Base - St. Louis University Family Medicine Residency Program. He accomplished his sports medicine training with the National Capital Consortium with Uniformed Services University of Health Sciences. He is a 13-year Air Force veteran who has served stateside, in Latin America, and the Middle East. He is board certified in family medicine and primary care sports medicine and is a registered musculoskeletal ultrasonographer. He also has a Master’s in Organizational Leadership from Crown College in Saint Bonifacius, MN and completed the LEADS (Leadership Education for Academic Development and Success) Fellowship through the Association of Departments of Family Medicine.

Dean Seehusen

2023-2024 BRC Fellowship

Bio:Dr. Dean Seehusen earned his medical degree from the University of Iowa and a Master of Public Health from the University of Washington. He is a Tripler Army Medical Center Family Medicine Residency graduate and the Madigan Army Medical Center Faculty Development Fellowship in Family Medicine. Dr. Seehusen served 21 years as an Active Duty physician in the United States Army. He is a decorated combat veteran of wars in both Iraq and Afghanistan. He holds a Board Certification from the American Board of Family Medicine and holds active licenses to practice medicine in Georgia and South Carolina. Dr. Seehusen is a Fellow of the American Academy of Family Physicians. He is Deputy Editor of the Journal of the American Board of Family Medicine and an Associate Medical Editor of the American Family Physician. He is the inaugural fellowship director of the ABFM Research and Editing Fellowship. He serves on the Board of Directors of the Association of Departments of Family Medicine. Dr. Seehusen is currently a professor and Chair of the Department of Family and Community Medicine at Augusta University in Augusta, Georgia.

Lynn Meadows

2022-2023 BRC Fellowship


Melanie Steiner

2023-2024 BRC Fellowship

Bio: Melanie Steiner (she/her), PhD, is Assistant Professor of Clinical Family Medicine and Director of Research Development in the Department of Family Medicine at the Indiana University School of Medicine in Indianapolis. She received her PhD in the humanities from Cornell University before transitioning to a career in research development. Prior to joining IUSM in 2024, she worked at the University of Utah for 8 years, first in the Office of the Vice President for Research, where she helped interdisciplinary teams of investigators develop multi-project center grants proposals, then in the Department of Family and Preventive Medicine, where she focused on growing research capacity by building a robust research infrastructure to advance primary care and public health research and scholarship. With expertise in grant writing, research mentoring, and team science, Melanie contributes to several NIH-funded workforce development programs to diversify biomedical research. She was an inaugural fellow in the 2021-22 BRC Fellowship.

Richelle J. Koopman

2023-2024 BRC Fellowship

Bio: Dr. Richelle Koopman is the Jack M. and Winifred S. Colwill Professor and Chair of the Department of Family and Community Medicine at the University of Missouri. She is a graduate of the University of Pennsylvania and the University of Pittsburgh School Of Medicine. She completed a Masters of Clinical Research at Medical University of South Carolina and is a practicing family physician. Dr. Koopman has been a clinical and health services researcher for 20 years, with funding from AHRQ K08, R01, and R18 awards. Her work focuses on improving care for chronic conditions through patient and physician use of electronic clinical decision support tools, particularly focusing on decision support for shared decision making in hypertension. Dr. Koopman is committed to making it easy for patients and physicians to make good decisions to improve health. She is a graduate of the ADFM LEADS fellowship and of the Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine (ELAM) fellowship. She serves on the Editorial Advisory Board of the Annals of Family Medicine and is serving NAPCRG as its President in 2023-2024.